Imitation Is The Sincerest Form Of Flattery

I discovered Ofelpan a while ago whilst I was spending hours perusing Etsy. It offers affordable handmade clothing imitating high end designers, one of my favourites being Rick Owens. Normally the concept of buying imitation goods is enough to put me off buying anything because the original will always be hands down better in every way. However you need to consider that sometimes you can lust after your favourite designer pieces but will never own them because the price bracket is just too high. I’m still supporting an independent designer and getting pieces for my wardrobe I could only ever dream of. I feel like I am partially selling out, but even eBay offerings for designer labels I adore are still unaffordable.

I find it increasingly difficult to buy anything on the high street as the offerings locally are your standard brands with nothing exciting design-wise. 90% of my wardrobe is bought online these days, a few clicks, swipes and a short wait later my goods have arrived. I love the wait and excitement for parcels. I always feel more appreciative knowing I’m supporting independent designers, maybe because that’s where I would like to be myself one day.

Check out the Ofelpan Etsy store, there’s hundreds of designs for both men and women. What’s your opinion?

il_570xN.516761246_qfmt

Oversized Grey Draping Long Sleeve Jersey Top £60

il_570xN.618758240_5ilk

Sleeveless Asymmetrical Draped Long Anthem Dress £80

il_570xN.630077253_js49

Tie Sweatshirt Hoodie £102

Leave a Reply

